About - How the NIS functions

Our social security scheme is run by the National Insurance Board, a body corporate, and the National Insurance Office, which is a unit of the Civil Service.
The Minister responsible for Social Security makes appointments to the Board, and the National Insurance Office falls under his control.
The Board is made up of nine members and is tripartite, meaning that it’s made up of representatives of the government and workers’ and employers’ organisations.
The Minister may also, as necessary, devise regulations under the National Insurance and Social Security Act to regulate the scheme. The functions of the board and the director are outlined in the relevant act and regulations.
Generally, control and management of the fund are entrusted to the Board. The Director, who is the Chief Executive Officer of the department, is responsible for determining matters such as the right to benefit, and for the day-to-day management of the office.

Dr. Justin Robinson, Chairman
Mr. Wismar Greaves, Deputy Chairman
Mr. Martin DaSilva, Member
Mr. Ian Gooding-Edghill, representative of the Barbados Employers’ Confederation
Mr. Colin Jordan, representative of the Barbados Hotel and Tourism Association
Mr. Victor Felix, Chief Labour Officer (Ag.)
Ms. Avonda Carrington, nominee of the Director of Finance and Economic Affairs
Ms. Roslyn Smith, General Secretary, National Union of Public Workers
Ms. Toni Moore, General SecretaryBarbados Workers’ Union